Welcome New Faculty Advisory Committee Members: Drs. Laughinghouse, Lusk and Cohen

Drs. Dail Laughinghouse, Mary Lusk and Matt Cohen were recently elected to serve as new members on the Water Institute Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC)! We are excited for the expertise and experience that each will bring to the Committee.

Dr. Laughinghouse is an Assistant Professor of Applied Phycology at the UF IFAS Fort Lauderdale Research and Education Center specializing in basic and applied algal research from tropical to polar regions. Current research in his lab focuses on inventorying aquatic algae in Florida; environmental triggers for algal blooms; algae control and mitigation; and genomic studies of algae and toxins in soils. His Extension program focuses on educating the public on Florida algae identification and working with extension agents on best management practices for algae control to improve water quality.

Dr. Lusk is an Assistant Professor of Urban Soil and Water Quality at the UF IFAS Gulf Coast Research and Education Center investigating impacts of urban landscape management practices on nutrient cycling and linkages to soil and water quality. Her applied research focuses on developing and testing best management practices such as maintaining soil organic matter, reducing stormwater flows, and using nutrients efficiently. Her Extension program fosters regional partnerships to provide Floridians information about water conservation methods and practices to improve urban water quality.

Dr. Cohen is a Professor of Forest Water Resources and Watershed Systems at the School of Forest Resources and Conservation specializing in watershed ecohydrology and biogeochemistry. His research focuses on ecosystem processes in wetlands, streams, lakes, aquifers and forests from Florida to the Arctic and Antarctic.  In Florida, he conducts research on spring fed rivers and nutrient supply impacts; the role of geographically isolated wetlands in watershed systems; pattern emergence in South Florida wetlands and impacts on hydrology; and forest water and nutrient yield.

The FAC consists of 15 affiliate faculty who advise the Water Institute on the formulation and execution of its programs, plans and policies. Ten members of the FAC are elected  by our affiliate faculty, and  five are appointed by the Water Institute Director in a process designed to promote diversity across discipline, college,  campus location, career stage, gender, and under-represented groups.

For more information about the FAC including continuing and past members, please click here.

For more information on affiliate faculty, or if you would like to become an affiliate Water Institute faculty member, please click here.