Congratulations to the Water Institute Affiliate Faculty for their recent awards! From left to right, top to bottom: Drs. Jonathan Martin, Kai Lorenzen, Lynn Sollenberger, and Karen Bjorndal.

Congratulations to our Affiliate Faculty for Recognition of their Excellence!

Water Institute Affiliate Faculty have recently been recognized for their extraordinary efforts and impacts. These faculty include Drs. Jonathan Martin, Kai Lorenzen, Lynn Sollenberger, and Karen Bjorndal.


Dr. Jonathan Martin was honored with the title of Distinguished Teaching Scholar by the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars. He will serve as an advisory board member for the Provost’s Office for a three-year term to develop and recommend policies to enhance academic excellence at UF. After his term, he will continue to be part of the Academy and retain the Distinguished Teaching Scholar title thereafter.

Dr. Jonathan Martin, a previous Water Institute Faculty Fellow, is a professor and associate chair of the Department of Geological Sciences.

Drs. Kai Lorenzen, Lynn Sollenberger, and Karen Bjorndal were elected as Lifetime Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). As the world’s largest general scientific society, AAAS is dedicated to advancing science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all. The AAAS Fellows Award recognizes extraordinary achievement and impact across disciplines. Past honorees include Thomas Edison, W.E.B DuBois, and Mae Jemison.

Dr. Kai Lorenzen is a professor in the UF/IFAS School of Forest, Fisheries, and Geomatics Sciences and associate director of the Integrative Fisheries Science program.

Dr. Lynn Sollenberger is a distinguished professor and graduate coordinator in UF/IFAS Agronomy.

Headshot of Karen Bjorndal

Dr. Karen Bjorndal is a distinguished professor of biology and director of UF’s Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research.

Join us in giving a big round of applause in recognizing their outstanding achievements and contributions!


April 26, 2024