News in the Spotlight<--Back

Celebration of the 2017 UF Water Institute Faculty Fellows ,

On October 23, 2017, the UF Water Institute and the Florida Climate Institute celebrated the 2017 Faculty Fellow Award recipients at the Faculty Fellow Award Celebration in Dauer Hall. This year’s UF Water Institute award recipients are Dr. Sanjay Shukla and Dr. David Kaplan. The 2017 Florida Climate Institute Faculty Fellows are Tom Ankersen and Dr. Sadie Ryan.

Dr. Sanjay Shukla received the Distinguished Faculty Fellow Award for his extensive and interdisciplinary water research. His research has focused on water conservation in crop production and governmental policy. Dr. David Kaplan received the Early Career Faculty Fellow Award for his outstanding accomplishments and involvement in water research spanning from the Brazilian Amazon to Florida’s Gulf Coast.

The award celebration provided a venue to honor the faculty members’ accomplishments and dedication to water and climate research. The Fellows each spoke about their research and the things they’ve learned in their careers. They provided great insight into what makes interdisciplinary research necessary and successful, as well as what the future of interdisciplinary research should look like.

More photos from the ceremony and reception can be found at this link.

In the coming months, each of the Water Institute’s Faculty Fellows will be featured as part of the UF Water Institute Distinguished Scholar Seminar Series, where the Fellows will present seminars on their current research. The seminars will take place on the following dates:

Dr. Sanjay Shukla: January 11 2:30PM - 3:30PM J. Wayne Reitz Union
Room 3320
Dr. David Kaplan: March 21 2:30PM - 3:30PM J. Wayne Reitz Union
Room 3320

Photos courtesy of Tyler Jones, IFAS Photography.