Faculty in the Spotlight<--Back

New 2017 Water Institute Faculty Fellows ,

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Sanjay Shukla and Dr. David Kaplan for being selected as the 2017 Water Institute Faculty Fellows, recognized for their contributions to interdisciplinary water research, Extension, and education programs, as well as for providing substantial support to programs of the UF Water Institute.

Dr. Shukla, Professor in the Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, receives this year’s Distinguished award. Sanjay earned his Ph.D. in Biological Systems Engineering at Virginia Tech. Sanjay’s research focuses on sustainable solutions for water availability and quality, irrigation and drainage watershed hydrology and modeling, and water-related ecosystem services, with the goal of increasing water sustainability by integrating research and Extension at field, farm, and basin scales. Read more on Dr. Shukla's webpage.

Dr. Kaplan, Assistant Professor in the Department of Environmental Engineering Sciences, receives this year’s Early Career award. David earned his Ph.D. in Agricultural and Biological Engineering at University of Florida. David’s research focuses on linkages between ecosystems and the hydrologic cycle, with the goal of guiding sustainable natural resources management though the development of new scientific knowledge and engineering tools. Dr. Kaplan also leads WI Graduate Fellows (WIGF) Cohort focusing on Hydrologic transformation in the Amazon Basin. Read more on Dr. Kaplan's webpage.

Sanjay and David join 6 current WI Faculty Fellows - Drs. Kati Migliaccio, Arnoldo Valle-Levinson, Mark Clark, Matt Cohen, Michael Dukes, and James Jawitz. WI Faculty Fellows receive a $2,000 a year award during their 3-year Fellowship term.

Dr. Shukla and Dr. Kaplan will be recognized at a Faculty Fellow Awards Celebration - held jointly with the Florida Climate Institute - on Monday, October 23 at 4:30 in the Keene Faculty Center in Dauer Hall. The 2017 Florida Climate Institute Faculty Fellows, Dr. Sadie Ryan and Mr. Tom Ankersen, will also be recognized at the event.