Students in the Spotlight<--Back

UF wins First Prize: EPA Campus Rainworks Challenge ,

Congratulations to the UF Student Team, led by Glenn Acomb, who are winners of EPAís Annual Campus RainWorks Challenge for the second year in a row!

This year's cross disciplinary team included students from landscape architecture, agricultural and biological engineering, environmental engineering and fine arts. The UF Water Institute co-sponsored Buster Simpson, a renowned Environmental Artist from Seattle Washington, to come to Gainesville to work with the design team and to give a seminar in our Distinguished Scholar Seminar Series.

First Prize Winner (Master Plan category): University of Florida

The design submitted by the winning team from the University of Florida addresses a 67.6 acre subwatershed in the northeast corner of campus. To engage students with the journey of water, the three-phase plan would transform two detention facilities into campus amenities and daylight the flow of stormwater into above ground pipes and vegetated bioswales. In addition to treating and retaining stormwater and improving groundwater recharge, the teamís plan would improve aesthetics and safety along a major road.

To learn more about the design in the teamís own words, view the teamís video.

Student Team: Adam S. McCollister (Project Manager), Stephanie Z. Bou-Ghannam, Johan A. Bueno, Kristina G. Bunyi, Adrienne Campbell, Viviana Castro, Craig J. Handley, Jr., Mark A.E. Koenig, Kyle J. Passeneau, Joshua D. Roedell, Laura M. Snider, Jessica A. Soleyn, Christopher R. Stidham, Claudia F. Visconti, Theresa G. Wymer, and Jordan S. Young (Landscape Architecture); Tracy A. Fanara and Kelsie A. Timpe (Environmental Engineering); Natalie A. Nelson (Agricultural and Biological Engineering); and Mario Rodriguez (Fine Arts).

Advisors: Glenn A. Acomb, FASLA (Faculty Advisor); Bahar Armagahni (Assistant Director, Facilities Planning); Dr. Mark Clark (Soil and Water Sciences); Cynthia Barnett (Environmental Journalist); Buster Simpson (Environmental Artist); and Chuck Hogan (Coordinator, Facilities Planning).

For more details see: